ALL REVIEWS

Bethany Manor, November 2021

5

Review of Overall Experience

love the construction manager, very active and responsive, love the move in progress, love the maintenance, love the house

Bethany Manor, November 2021

5

Review of Overall Experience

My family and I had a wonderful experience Meritage Homes 🏡. Our Site Builder Justin provided us with great service and answered every question within a timely manner. As a first time Homebuyer/Homeowner we are very well pleased with the outcome!!! Thank you 🙏🏾

Summerfield, November 2021

Review of Overall Experience

Construction quality is very very poor. The Construction manager Abraham was very irresponsible and did not care customer concerns. .. The cost of upgrades is too high compared to other builders. And even design center they did not share all the available options.

Parkview East, November 2021

1

Review of Overall Experience

Our overall experience with Meritage Homes from the beginning up until now has been less than satisfying. Given that we all have been in a global pandemic going on two years, we were very understanding and patient during this entire process. However, over time all of the grace that we have been extending literally got us nowhere. All that we asked for was communication from the very beginning. We understood that this process was unpredictable, and we prepared ourselves for that. When our house was being built, we were provided with reasonable updates on a weekly basis. Those updates came with dates and deadlines that were not adhered to. This caused things to be pushed back. Once again, we understood that this could happen, and we didn't have an issue with that. The real issue came when we were still set for our closing on September 22nd and the scheduled for us to do our walk-through a week before closing. We met with Wade who was initially unprepared to do the walk-through with us because he was unaware that he would be the one completing it. When we walked into our home a week before we were set to close there was a laundry list of things that needed to be completed. At that moment we were not confident at all that Meritage Homes would be able to complete these tasks within a week. This was based on our previous experience with them the prior months during construction. Instead of offering us an option to push back the closing they promised us that all of the things that needed to be completed would be done a day before our closing. We opted to hire an inspector to come out and view the home. The inspection was completed the same day we did the initial walk-through and the report was sent to Wade that same day. Wade informed us he would be going out of town, but he would have the items corrected the day before our closing. This failed to get taken care of. Wade went out of town and didn't even provide anyone with the report of things that needed to be completed. An emergency ended up happening with Wade and that was where the ball was dropped. A day or two before closing, Eric inherited the disaster from Wade's lack of follow through. With little time to make corrections before closing a list was created with things that needed to e be completed before we agreed to sign-off. Needless to say our house was not in the best condition we would have wanted it to be. From paint being chipped everywhere, caulk being stuck on the floor, glass particles in the shower to a dirty house in general. We even had an issue with the sod being laid and not rolled along with our driveway and patio not being pressure washed. When they did come to pressure wash the utilities were already in our name and our water bill reflected the use our water for something that wasn't our fault. Disappointed doesn't even compare to what we were. Then we received push back, and comments about everything in our home wouldn't be perfect. Of course we knew that. However, the amount we paid for this home alone meant we wanted it to be to our satisfaction. I am sure anyone who works for Meritage Homes wouldn't buy a brand-new expensive car with scratches on it. Let alone a car with major damage and not get compensated for it. If our home was not move-in ready, then we should have pushed the closing date back. We had enough confidence in Meritage to keep the closing date. We took off from work, and we hired movers. By the time we found out our home was not ready it would have been difficult to rearrange moving. After we moved in we noticed even more issues with the house. Our sod was laid very poorly, so it is going to take several treatments to get our grass up to standard. We were only provided with one garage door opener that we just received at the beginning of November. When we had our property surveyed to get a fence installed it turns out a portion of our property was left without sod. After following up several times and getting our realtor involved our sod was finally laid. At the moment we are still waiting for painters to come back and for our microwave to be replaced because it was installed damaged. The lack of urgency getting these things taken care of is the biggest concern. We were informed that these things would get taken care of, but it simply took too long. If someone says that they are going to do something, just simply do it. I provided plenty of dates and times for these things to get completed, and we were completely overlooked. We had to literally beg for these things to be completed, and we are still waiting. The other concern that we have with Meritage Homes is their partnership with Sentry Management for our HOA. When we moved in we signed up in the Sentry Management portal and thoroughly reviewed the HOA by laws. Considering we are a new community we knew that a Board would be over our HOA until the time came for homeowners to be on the board. As a homeowner, we would have appreciated it if each and every homeowner had to review the bylaws and sign off on receiving and understanding them. There have been several concerns as a tax paying homeowner in Parkview East. I have reached out to Sentry Management with my concerns and was provided feedback. One concern was the cars parked in the street. I was informed that Parkview East did not allow parking in the street. However, you can park in the street during construction work hours. Cars are parked in the street 24/7 making it difficult to get in and out. This is a safety concern. It is also a concern when we can't properly back out of our driveway without having to maneuver into another driveway. Sentry Management said they were waiting on an email blast. In order to receive an email, you would have to have enrolled with them. I am sure that not all homeowners signed up with the HOA. I also inquired about a homeowner using their home as an Airbnb. This is occurring across the street from our home. The listing is listed on the Airbnb site, and different people are in and out every day. I brought this concern to Sentry Management as a safety concern. Knowing that we are homeowners who are paying property taxes and a home is allowed to have a rental property in an unfinished community is baffling. Sentry Management informed us that you are not allowed to use your home for short-term rentals. They said they were working on this issue, but there has been no change. These cars, that are parked in the Airbnb, are parked in the street in front of surrounding homes once again congesting the street. The home that is being used as an Airbnb has plenty of space in their driveway for cars to park, but they don't use it. What if something happens regarding these guests? We don't even know who to contact because they can be there one minute and gone the next. We have even witnessed the host having to ask guests to leave due to an altercation. Once again, as a taxpayer this is unacceptable. We have paid our HOA fees up for 15 months, but we aren't even going to see the true benefit of them for quite some time. With that being said, I think that someone from the HOA should be coming to the community regularly to see these concerns as well as address other violations that weren't noted. At this point, since my concerns aren't getting, addressed further action needs to take place. I hope that my overall experience was communicated effectively and I truly hope the next person who makes a purchase from Meritage Homes does not have to go through what my family went through. I wouldn't wish this stress of purchasing a home on anyone. This was our first home that we have purchased and I wish our experience was better.

Bells Landing, November 2021

4

Review of Overall Experience

The process was so easy, just rushed a little bit to closing on time, and the finishes around the house is not that good. Still waiting for my welcome visit , supposed to be after 15 days, now we have 45 days…

Meadows at Idylwilde, November 2021

5

Review of Overall Experience

It was an excellent home purchasing experience

Bells Landing, November 2021

4

Review of Overall Experience

Charles and Victor were my points of contact through the building phase and held my hand through the way and even after close. It’s been 2 months since I closed and can still call on them for troubleshooting, general questions, etc. Michael from the Lending side was also amazing and very pleasant to work with. He made sure I was making informed decisions and always upbeat when guiding me through any concerns or uncertainty. Because of these three interactions, I have confidence in my decision of going with Meritage homes and not competitors.

Meadows at Idylwilde, November 2021

5

Review of Overall Experience

I first started looking at Meritage homes when Hickory Mill of Vaughn Rd was being built. I noticed the differences in the way Meritage was built unlike the other homes. Since then I was hooked and had to have a Meritage Home. My wife and I searched the area and found a few plans that looked great, but we were unable to make things happen for various reasons. It had been over two years since we have been searching and when we found out homes were being built exactly where we wanted to be, we started to plan. I was on the email chain for notices just waiting for the first look and then there was the Dusty Boots event. I couldn't wait to attend. Once that day came, it began a rocky start. But once the Meritage Team got to work on my behalf, I was promised that they would do everything in their power to make our dreams of owning a home would come true. After the sell of my previous house, my wife and I were able to get the ball rolling and before we knew it, BAM, we had a contract on a home. We were so exited that the sales agent, Margaret and John the builder, helped make our dreams come true. We were provided updates every step of the way and the communication was fantastic. The overall experience was wonderful. Thanks guys for a Job Well Done!

Ridgewalk, November 2021

3

Review of Overall Experience

took possession (## altamaha trail or Reagan street - have 2 addresses now!) on 29th Sept 2021. list of pending items to be completed found in initial walk-through on 15 sept were not fully completed by closing date of 29th. Mistake we did - did the closing inspite of pending things on promise that these will be completed. its been 6 weeks - still following up. issues - NO INTERNET WI-FI wiring has been put. expect this by end Nov. we are being asked to run around ATT - Meritage not responsible. then Trash bins not received/sent to wrong address - again per meritage - they not accountable for this also. then all pending things - paint job, caulking, and such - there is a list but everytime we follow-up - they ask - oh send photos. so it has been quite tiresome, exhausting, frustrating. i even asked for email of CEO - havent got that as wanted to complian. have filled form on their internet site to be contacted/request to send CEO;s email - even that communication channel is for show. no one acts on that. so basically - they dont care and feel in this hot market - customer isnt important. and they have not learnt lesson from past where billion $ companies now dont exist because they also acted as if CUSTOMER is not important. let us see what future holds for us and Meritage. i will think twice before recommending or buying another of their property.

Bryson Meadows, November 2021

5

Review of Overall Experience

Overall the sales team has done an excellent job with aiding me from purchase to move-in. My sales rep, Dennis, was great with walking me through the model homes, selecting a property, and walking me through the contract or answering questions. Although there were issues with my plumbing in one bathroom (an issue found during the inspection, and should've been corrected prior to move-in), Gary and his team are working diligently to fix the problem now, and he answers any questions that I have along the way. He has done a great job communicating dates and times for fixes. Unfortunately, my experience with the loan agent Mandy was okay at best. There was a lack of communication, and I mainly received automated e-mails. However, when I would get to speak to her on the phone she was polite and explained things well. She mentioned that the systems she worked on did not properly relay messages I sent, however, my suggestion is to increase communication. Either way, an overall good experience. I would recommend this company to others!

  • PAGE 1 OF 1