ALL REVIEWS

Trillium, October 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

Respondent had no comments.

Hidden Lakes, October 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

good

Ivy Creek, October 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

The Stone Martin site supervisor (Jason) was transferring out of Ivy Creek phase 4 and being replaced by a young man ( Cullen). No Stone Martin employee stayed on top of this build. My house was the 1st or 2 nd being built. Problems with doors out of square/ want close. Problems with the sheet rock. Wasn’t sanded/ holes were left in the sheet rock/ the paint was sprayed. It has runs in it on the wall. The painting was never finished. I have spots on the ceiling and walls the missed painting. The concrete pour in the garage is extremely rough. The concrete in the garage at close 7/15/22 had a small crack approximately 2’ long. As of writing this review the cracks are running in every direction. There is over 40’ of cracks and growing. The slab in the garage has cracks of 1/4” and growing and has dropped. The LVP installed through out this house is floating. I suspect when the floor is repaired they will see the same cracking of the slab. Both were poured at the same time. The kitchen countertops are two totally colors. Pete says when he get the contractors out to my house,they can address these issues. Let me say to Stone Martin builders I did not purchase this house from their contractors. They need to step up and repair these problems quickly. Stone Martin has great employees. Their contractors work/quality is a very poor representation of Stone Martin. We love the lot we selected. We love the neighbors/ neighborhood. We just want what was promised and that we paid for. This was supposed to be our retirement home.

Camden South, October 2022

5

Review of Overall Experience

Excellence from the sales team all the way down. Very professional team! We are very happy with our new home

Camden South, October 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

Where do we start. First of all, your videos are full of incorrect information. One says that the build team will show the utmost of respect for your new home. There was trash left everywhere on the build site, our countertops were used as workbenches and scratched in numerous places, our kitchen was used to was paint brushes and drywall tools and scratched/dented the finish. Several of our kitchen cabinet hinges were cracked and the fix was to fill them in with the touchup crayon. Many of our blue taped items were not fixed, even after THREE walkthroughs. The craftsmanship of the house is sloppy, at best. More care was given to finishing ahead of schedule for bonuses rather than taking the time to produce a quality product. Every time we dig in our flower beds, we dig up plastic bottle, cans, construction debris, and other trash. The bathroom shower lights are not wired in with the exhaust fans, as stated in the videos. The yard is completely unacceptable since it was not rolled smooth after sod install, also stated in the videos. Several of the closet/pantry ceilings were not painted the proper ceiling color. The tray ceiling in the master BR was not painted as indicated on the website. The doorbell is on the wrong side of the door due to the original door being replaced with one that opens on the opposite side. There are still huge gaps under most of the door casings. We requested all of these things to be repaired during ALL of our walkthroughs, and these issues still remain. Our water lines were filled with mud, sand, and rocks due to a break in a line somewhere and we are still unsure if all of the valves and lines have been properly cleaned of all remaining sediment. During our framing walkthrough, we specifically pointed out several outlet boxes that were crooked and stated we would be extremely unhappy if the drywall AND tile were cut to accomodate the crooked box rather than straightening the box. We were assured that this would not happen. We STILL have crooked outlet boxes because the tile was cut for the crooked box and several that are not flush with the wall. The warranty team has been the only positive experience during this entire process.

Camden South, October 2022

2

Review of Overall Experience

From start to finish, it felt like we were rushed to make decisions with little or no help in some cases from representatives. From picking a lot, floor plan, fixtures, etc, there was no time to really look at all the options. For instance, the brick we ended up picking is the ugliest brick I've ever seen, but we had no way of seeing the brick other than a little 18' x18" sample that had 10 bricks on it. The house plan we chose has a massive pantry. (a great selling point) All the videos and pictures that are in the adds and promotional material show the pantry with the upgraded wood shelves. There are 5 rows of shelves. We chose to not upgrade to the wood shelves and to our surprise when the wire shelves were installed, there were only 3 rows of shelves running right down the center of the walls leaving massive amounts of empty, unusable space. We were told that the picture (on the tablet) in the 10 day options clearly showed 3 rows of shelves. It was not "clearly" shown. It was a picture of some wire shelves and no explanation that with the wire shelves you only get 3 rows and with the wood shelves you get 5 rows. The upgrade was for the type of shelves, not the quantity of shelves. It made NO sense what so ever. These are just a couple of the frustrating issues we ran into. We were met with "No Changes are allowed" with every minor adjustment request. Not changes, just MINOR adjustments. The "Tablet" is poorly managed. The videos are are a waste of time. I'd rather you put all of this information in a booklet that is organized in such a way that I can find the information I need and can skip the "New Home Owner" education. (This is my 4th house in 30 years. I know I need to change the air filter and water the grass.) Buildertrend is a great concept, but looked nothing like what was advertised. We never saw a calendar, the weekly updates were vague, and the pictures/videos were almost non existent. We would have to request photos and then we would only get 4 or 5. Towards the end of the build, there were no photos. Bottom line, at the price point we paid, we expected much more. Your slogan "A Better Way to Build" only applies to SMB, not the home owner.

Hidden Lakes, October 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

Respondent had no comments.

Northbrook, October 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

We had a great experience in our build with Stone Martin.

TOWNE LAKES, September 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

All of our neighbors have had issues with their homes, including us, but honestly don't think overall ours was quite as bad as what I've heard from others. However, there were a few things that didn't make us happy and builders didn't want to fix although it was their fault. One, they had paint in our carpet, and tried to remove a big spot with acetone. Although it removed the color, the carpet smelled like gas and is now hard and crunchy. I asked if they would replace it and said no. How fantastic is that and why would I recommend a builder that does that. They also don't care when you notice issues months in advance of closing. If you email Stone Martin about certain issues you're concerned they're not noticing or going to fix, they just respond saying everything will be done by closing. Guess what, it wasn't of course. They try to do things that seems like they are hoping the homeowner won't see, like changing certain cabinet drawers around from house to house before closing that has a horrible patch job done on it. I will say when talking with them in person, they show care in the way they present themselves and talk, but that doesn't mean stuff will get fixed. As a buyer, I don't think I should be having to point out major stuff that needs to be done before closing during our walk-through which is a week out from closing. Such as the island not even being securely fastened to the granite counter top and the cabinet siding on the island moves. They did fix it after mentioning but that is something that definitely shouldn't be left because if the homeowner closed without noticing, it could have been an issue. We didn't even have our Z-Wave light switch included with the home like it was supposed to as a part of the base technology package. They don't even know what is included when you upgrade for a cat5e cable ran to a certain spot. Normally Cat5e is thought of for ethernet ports and not phone Jack's, so when you upgrade, you should be told that it is for a phone jack plate on the wall. And not ethernet ports. They had no clue what I was talking about and said that's the only thing they have and said it was Cat5e. That technically refers to the cable itself though and not the plate which I am. Who even uses house phones anymore? I also had to point out we had no termite stations in the ground during our walk-through, another important piece missed. The hardwood stairs look awful with the stain and finish on it as well..

TOWNE LAKES, September 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

The experience was good. The toilet paper holders were not installed firmly. They fell of the first week after I moved in.

  • PAGE 1 OF 12