ALL REVIEWS

Kaufman, January 2023

5

Review of Overall Experience

Respondent had no comments.

Grayson, November 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

We were told when we signed with tilson that if we did our part then the building process would take 12-14 months. It instead took 24 months. There were some Covid related delays due to labor shortages but there were many delays that should have been avoided. We failed almost all the inspections, sometimes multiple times. I feel like Tilson was not prepared to build a house in the city limits and did not do their homework to see what needed to be done to pass inspections. Also our house sat still for 6 or 7 weeks because the plumber cut through a support beam. This problem literally only took one day to fix, but for some reason we still had to wait a month and a half before it was fixed. It was infuriating. While our GC was always great about communicating with us and answering our calls, we felt that maybe he was inexperienced especially when working with a city. I was also frustrated with the design process. The design consultant they brought in did not know any of the costs, it’s hard to pick what you want if you don’t know the cost. Also we specifically told her we wanted the paint that is easy to clean because we have 4 kids and a dog, but after moving in we noticed that we definitely did mot get the gloss paint but it is the hard to clean matte instead. I recognize that I should have noticed this before closing but I did not notice until after we moved in. All that said, we feel that it is a quality home, and we will be forever great full that Tilson honored the price we signed up for even though lots of builders in 2020-2021did not.

Fannin, November 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

There were major problems during the build of our home. Changes we had requested, watched our sales representative draw into the plans, and were told those changes were in the plans when we signed the plan, were not in fact in the plan. We noticed things that were changed in height that were not done when the framing went up. Ultimately, these things cost us more money to have them added after the fact as well as a delay in the build due to them having to be redone correctly. Also, some of the work was not done to code and had to be ripped out and redone. A couple of workers decided to use the back porch of our new home as a urinal on multiple occasions instead of walking to the front of the house to use the port-a-john that was provided. If we had not be checking on the process of the build every weekend or had cameras on our property, for security purposes, we would never have known about the improper installation of the tile in both bathrooms and the urinal incidents. We just happen to be at the house before the tile job was finished and noticed the improper tile application and the hit-and-miss application of the water barrier to the shower walls. We would have had major water damage if it has been left the way we found it. Mitch, our site supervisor was great to explain things to us and to address our concerns. He was the high point of the hole process. Our Sales Representative, Cheyenne, seemed very agreeable to our wants and concerns but in the end did nothing that we asked her to do as far as the plans went. When I asked for a copy of our meeting notes, I was told she didn't have any notes from our meetings. How do you know what your client wants, if you don't take notes.

Fannin, October 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

I absolutely enjoyed working with Mitch my superintendent. But the fact it took nearly 7 months to get started, and the interest rate went through the roof, it was a horrible experience. Great superintendence they do anything to try their best to get the job done. But the experience to that point was not very good.

Collin, October 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

it was a good experience it just took a little longer

Fannin, October 2022

2

Review of Overall Experience

Thank God for Mitch he gets things done, poor Colton's hands are tied and his subs won't listen to him, Tilson's needs to find better subs, they brag about their quality of work it's got to be the worst tile, paint, and cornice work I seen.

Cooke, October 2022

2

Review of Overall Experience

The sales phase was great. Construction was a struggle. not just because of the delays related to materials and labor but poor communication and not meeting expectations when they were set. The quality of the sub contractors was not what I had expected. several months of the construction time was due to rework, often with me be the one to identify errors.

Grayson, October 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

Respondent had no comments.

Denton, September 2022

4

Review of Overall Experience

The construction of the home, from the foundation to the roof and walls, seems to be of good quality. However, our financing and selection process was backward, which made things difficult in several areas, number one being the fact that I was not offered cabinets in the powder or laundry rooms! We didn't know those weren't "standard". as we've never done this before. In addition, some of the contractors used on the project seem to be lackadaisical and there are still aesthetic issues throughout here and there. We chose stained concrete and were assured the utmost care would be taken to assure they were well prepared and guarded throughout the process. However, the trowel used in the finishing process dug into it in several key areas, leaving huge, black arcs where it had been after the stain was applied. There are, of course, other that were involved that gave us their utmost attention and tried at every turn to make things right. We are so very appreciative of all their efforts and finally bringing our home together so that it was inhabitable in a timely fashion.

Collin, September 2022

3

Review of Overall Experience

I would have rated higher but my home was finished almost 2 months after expectations and after the home was completed items that were to be addressed after closing went ignored. The superintendent ignores my attempts to reach him and corporate does nothing about this when I have called the corporate Houston location twice. No, I would not reccomend Tilson

  • PAGE 1 OF 2