FacebookTwitterLinkedInEmail

Tartan Homes Review

2017 Customer Satisfaction Report

 
6 Star (60)
5 Star (53)
4 Star (17)
3 Star (1)
2 Star (1)
1 Star (0)
Home Quality: 5.0 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars
 
Overall Service: 5.0 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars
 
Time Taken to Correct Items: 4.1 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars
 
Would Recommend Builder: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars
 
February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.2 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

upgrade price

Would Change

wood floor quality, design centre representative attitude and knowledge

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.8 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Everything Nice sales and aftersales representative

Would Change

Nothing

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.0 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

The home is beautiful with its curved staircase. Some of the people I met there at tartan are so amazing, Kind, helpful and very welcoming.

Would Change

please put the phone jack close to the electric outlet.The home is beautiful but a little bit dark. it will be great to have a sun tube light above the stairs to introduce more natural light in the living room.Also the solid Front door need to be gone for more light. The home I got It was too late to change the door.Also what do I do with the cable box when I have a wall mounted TV above the fireplace. there is no room to put cabinet to hide the cable box in the family room. or do you have any suggestion for me-please feel free to contact me asap. please for any suggestion to keep it modern and symmetric. Also in the basement it will be better when people choose their cable location to again have the cable outlet and the power outlet next to each other. This make it easier to hide the cords and keep clean line.

February 2017Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Home : Neat ...professional..workmanship. Service : Loved the sincerity with which the whole team provided the service...importantly with a smile all the times....great job team...love you guys.

Would Change

Nothing

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

The energy efficiency is great. The good selection of stylish, modern finishes. Quality of buildays and workmanship.

Would Change

Driveway separate from neighbour. Slightly wider garage to accommodate SUVs.

February 2017Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

I am THRILLED with my new Tartan home. I love the layout, the ability I had to make small customizations, and the quality of the workmanship. Both the sales team and the service team members I have interacted with are consistently professional, caring and effective in addressing questions and requests.

Would Change

There was a disconnect during one of the initial design selection phases in that I was sure I had ordered a counter with bar extension as I had discussed it several times. I was very surprised during my PDI when the island countertop had no bar extension (I had already been shopping for stools :) ). It was definitely not on any change order, and so was completely my error in not finalizing the selection, but maybe it could be a checkbox to verify with future purchasers to avoid similar confusion.

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 2.8 / 6 3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars3.0 Stars

Liked Most

Nothing, they do not provide good service.

Would Change

I wish I can sell the house without loosing money and leave.

February 2017Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Kitchen design/ standard features and options

Would Change

More storage space, broom closet

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.8 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Many model homes. Design center is impressive and simple. Repair crews seem to care and because of this I don't expect any issues after all repairs are complete the house should be satisfactory.

Would Change

The house was rushed to finish on time. All trim, paint, dry-walling, and wood flooring was thrown together as if done by first time handymen. This house should have had its closing date moved and the house should not have been rushed.

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

- Quality of kitchen craftsmanship. - All service and sales people are friendly and helpful. - Tradesman are respectful and clean.

Would Change

- More knowledgeable staff for first-time home buyers in the design center. - More attention to detail on the condition of completed work within the house (obvious deficiencies, rushed work). - Sales team rushed us a little too much through the buying process. Making quick decisions as first-time home buyers was uncomfortable.

February 2017Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Quality

Would Change

Design home representative

February 2017Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 6.0 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

quanlity

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

February 2017Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 4.0 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

Location is great for our growing family. [Tartan Homes rep] is Awesome to work with !!

Would Change

Well first i would fire the Painting and the Cleaning crew. The walls had drywall dust all over and we are still trying to clean it..... The tile work I would say is about 50/50 but the grouting job is horrible.. Why would someone take there time in making sure the tile is nice but when they go to grout the final job do such a horrible job.. All our grout in our house is different colors and pin holes all over the place. My wife and I paid good money in upgrades and are not to happy with it.. For instnence our grout in our masterbathroom looks like 4 different shades on the floor.. Horrable.... This part of the job we were not satisfied with.... Staining of our Hardwood Staircase and railing is poor job.. I have never seen a blotchy job when it comes to staining.. they came back to do a few fixes on our stairs and I couldn't wait for them to leave because it didn't look better then it was before they started.... People are paying big money to live in Tartan homes.. For the price we paid for our Semi we could have purchased a single family home with another builder but we choose to go with Quality over price and we haven't been satisfied with a few our our finishes which we paid our top $ for when it came to upgrades.

February 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 3.6 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

Floor plan, High Ceilings, Granite Counter Tops, Large Windows

Would Change

Sub Contractors for Paint, Dry Wall, Trim and Baseboards need to put more effort in to completing the job properly. Far too many mistakes for a new home at it's price. Carpet installers need to use new blades to cut carpets during installation. PDI fixes need to be completed with care as we have paint splatter on carpet and on windows.

January 2017Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

I love the design of the model. It has been my dream home for the past 8years now. Everyday i wake up happy looking at The house, the space and the exterior look . Tartan service is excellent.

Would Change

The color of the siding. May be to a darker brown.

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

What I liked about the Home: the home was really well constructed with all the modern efficiencies expected in a new home. I am at the age where many friends are also purchasing their first houses and it seems that Tartan provides much greater value (with the bonus incentives) and quality workmanship compared to other builders in the Greater Ottawa Area. The bonus incentives really hooked me and later I found out Tartan also is rated one of the highest for quality compared to the other builders. What I liked about the Service: I found the staff I met throughout the process to friendly and trustworthy as I found them really looking after the my interests. They provided good advice at the design phase and even recommended not to waste my money on some options based on future plans. That said, there was one exception that really did tarnish my experience. The home coordinator I was assigned to was not very helpful and I often found I had to fight to get something. That said the design centre manager was extremely helpful and really helped me get the changes I wanted to get done, she really saved the day :).

Would Change

Changes to the Home: The I had a few things on my list that I really wanted, which during the design phase was told it was not possible and I would have to do it after. I was quite disappointed, I was willing to pay the amount to get the changes done but the home coordinator indicated that it could not be done. i.e: extended counter top by a foot, an upgraded hood fan within spec (300 cfms) and exterior door. All of which I guess I will have to do myself. Changes to the service provided: Overall very pleasant experience with the staff at Tartan. I just wished I had a better experience at the design centre with those changes. I had second thoughts on my paint choice and called back next day, they said it was too late. 3 weeks later the tile I picked was not being made anymore and I could change my paint colour and it was not too late. (strange) At the sales stage, I double and triple checked whether the cables in the house were Cat5e indicated in the feature list. I was told yes they were. Unfortunately it said the wires were Cat5e and not the jacks. Since I wasn't planning to get residential phone line they were useless and I had to fight to get 3 of them changed over.

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Dealing with representatives was very pleasant. design centre [representative] was excellent and so was the representative during the PDI

Would Change

1 car lane way and 1 car garage is very inconvenient, especially since so many homes in the area are limited in the same way. Many home owners/visitors have to park in the street. This makes navigation through the street very complicated, especially with the winter conditions. Also additional sound proofing between the semi homes would be minimize the sounds we hear from the neighbour's home.

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.7 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

January 2017Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Location and quality of the home is impressive with some areas to be addresse which I know will, Im very pleased with my new home and community!

Would Change

More details of the standard layout of the cabinetry in the kitchen. Did not realize there would be 3 corner cabinets which makes it difficult to open once the stove and dishwasher are installed, therefore less used items stored in these prime areas. Better knowledge of upgrades would have been helpful!

January 2017Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 5.0 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Overall very positive experience. Excellent customer service so far.

Would Change

We strongly recommend improving the quality of the paint and painting service.

January 2017Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

We like the home because it's a semi detached bungalow and open concept It's a beautiful and comfortable house. As for the service provided by Tartan, we are very happy. Every time we were contacting them, they were very fast to get back to us. Thank you Tartan

Would Change

Nothing

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 3.4 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

We really like the home in terms of layout although it was not our first choice since that one was discontinued suddenly. We do like the community and location so far. The lot was also an important factor.

Would Change

The experience with the design centre was horrible. The rules regarding children not being allowed there does not make sense for families which is very strange given that is your target market. At the same time, the hours are not convenient and limited if you don't live in that area. The quotes and dealing with sub-contractors was also very difficult throughout that process. We felt pressure to make decisions without all the info. Since we've been in the home, the responsiveness to issues including on day 1 has not been good. Very few items were addressed from the PDI and the fireplace did not work when we closed. No one was around to help that day. The need to constantly follow-up continues as we try to get items fixed and this is not acceptable. We also found some of the workmanship like drywall, plaster, and painting in particular very poor quality. This distracts from our enjoyment and the value of the home since the fixes are not going to be as good as if it was done properly in the first place.

January 2017Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Everyone I met was great, workmanship is very good for a tract build and allowed customization that I was surprised by.

Would Change

The grade of wall paint sucks....should be eggshell not flat.

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Quality of material and workmanship

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.8 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Quality of the home. Great layout. We are extremely happy with our new home. Knowledgeable representatives, easy to deal with. Any items that required repairs have been very minor.

Would Change

Disconnect between the home designer and design costing representative. Everyone was very nice to deal with but they were providing conflicting information.

January 2017Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Features and upgrades included in the standard package, quality of materials used in the construction plus interiors, high quality exterior bricks used. Good sales and DC support.

Would Change

Few things were incomplete upon closing, for example, the driveway was not complete (it really gets hard to shovel snow on an unpaved driveway), so this maybe have been completed a bit earlier before closing (before the onset of winter). Paint quality is not at all up to mark for Tartan standards. Tartan needs to hire professional painters going-forward. Issues highlighted during PDI were not really addressed before closing.

December 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

December 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

December 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Honest, straight forward. Respond readily.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

December 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.7 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Experience with Sales and Design centre team is awesome. They were very helpful and professional.

Would Change

My experience with PDI and post PDI is not at all good. Service team is not at all recommended. I find speaking to service team that i BEG to get something from them. Always i have to speak to them like please please help me and do my Job. The service team is talking very adamantly when contacted. I woule like to speak to someone at the senior level about the post delivery services in details. I have sold 4 houses during my sales cycle but will not recommend anymore by looking at the service teams behavior. before comming to Tartan , i was with Minto and compare to Minto I will rate only 10%.

December 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Great service every step of the way

Would Change

Nothing

December 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Very friendly sales and service staff, very good design centre. Energy Star helps to ensure quality materials and construction.

Would Change

Larger garage option, more upgrade choices for items like lighting fixtures, sinks, faucets, toilets, etc. for a reasonable price without exorbitant builder markup fees.

December 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Beautiful home. Excellent services

Would Change

Nothing

December 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Staff were extremely friendly and I felt they went above and beyond to assist me with various issues during our experience/process. The home itself is very beautiful, but I was sadden by the landscaping/driveway not being completed despite our move-in date being before the cut off period.

Would Change

I wish the options selection manual during the design center appointments had more pictures. The manual had tons of great and useful information, however, I declined many options simply because I couldn't picture how it would look like, which is an extremely important part of selecting which upgrades/options you would want. I had to do what felt like a lot of research and "google image searches" for many of the options to get an idea on how they would look. It was a tedious process which led me to choosing most of my options as being the standard ones. I plan on replacing some interior finishes throughout the next few months/years which options that I will seek out myself at different retailers. The biggest issue I had was the lack of communication between Tartan, Cable/Internet service technicians and myself. I moved in on October 27th, 2016 with a scheduled appointment with Rogers to set up my Cable & Internet on October 28th. The technician came and advised me the wiring to the house was not properly completed. I called Bell who visited the home 3 days later, again confirming that the wiring for them was not completed as well. It took 7 days for me to get my cable & internet up and running and neither Tartan, nor the various Internet providers could confirm when the wiring to the home would be completed. As a self-employed individual who requires internet to work successfully, I was left in the dark for 7 days which caused a lot of frustration and stress. I believe some communication between Tartan and Rogers/Bell needs to be revised in order to ensure homes are prepared for the installation of these utilities upon closing. I, personally would have preferred to delay closing until this was fixed and fully prepared. I would like to point out that I did feel [Tartan reps] went above and beyond to help get this problem fixed as soon as possible. They would reach out to me and provide frequent updates on their dealings with Rogers reps. It did make me feel like I had someone sticking up for me, rather than just dismissing the problem and thinking it would eventually get fixed. I VERY much appreciated the level of service they both provided to me.

December 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.4 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Sales process

Would Change

Design center and quality control -- shabby shabby job with the dry wall and paint

December 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 6.0 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

November 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 4.8 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

[Tartan reps] were always available for questions, and went beyond expectations in making changes. [Tartan rep] made the PDI a joy, as he explained absolutely everything, was knowledgeable and showed how proud he is to be a part of Tartan. [Tartan rep] organized repairs very well - except for hot water HEATER - see below.

Would Change

Not a service issue: the hot water heater is a piece of junk. We have to run the hot water for at least a minute before it warms up. What a waste of water; if it saves natural gas, as someone may think, it is still a junk. I wanted a normal high efficiency hot water tank, but [Tartan rep] is not willing to help me. She sent me to talk to Enbridge, who are also ignoring me.

November 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.6 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

The size and finishing is very good. The service provided was excellent

Would Change

Nothing

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Quality workmanship

Would Change

During the buying process, the sales staff made no mention about a park being built behind us. We paid a premium price for the lot without knowing all the information.

November 2016Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

The home is very well built and all the staff were very accommodating

Would Change

The location.

November 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 3.7 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

service provider and paint guy are not polite I'm not satisfied with job Tartans service and paint guy.

Would Change

Must be more polite and answer at my question quickly then now (in 2 weeks)

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.5 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Home is good. the service though...needs a lot of improvement and would be fantastic if appointments showed up so I do not take a day off for nothing agai

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Very thoughtful/ respond to inquiries timely/ Great customer service/ House nicely built as expected

Would Change

Very satisfied. Nothing that I can think of

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.0 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Floor Plan and Layout, Location, Sales and Design center staff and experience. Lots of quality finish choices. Unique home design. Service staff has been trying their best to address all the issues as soon as possible, however these are issues that should not be there in the first place.

Would Change

Construction seems OK. The smooth ceiling was a disaster. Tartan is patching every room in the house because it was done poorly. I believe the Tartan quality control did not do their job well. House was bought more than a year ahead of the closing date. There was ample time. We are in a house with patched ceilings and walls after 2 months from our closing/move-in date. It feels like we are renovating the home. It does not feel like we moved in a brand new home. We still haven't had a chance to enjoy the home or entertain guest. The PDI items such as reinstalling stained fireplace wall was done after we moved in and generated a lot of dust and disruption. 1. Tartan must perform a thorough quality control of their homes prior to closing. A major problem and eyesore with smooth ceilings should not be missed from the trained eyes of the professionals. We consider the major dissatisfaction due to poor quality control approach by Tartan. 2. The house was not clean enough. A lot of dust needed to be cleaned out from all wood and tile floors and basement. Basement windows did not even close properly due to leftover derbies in the window frame. Wood floors has a lot of scuff marks that was not polished off or cleaned properly. Tartan must address it. 3. Paint job was not the best on walls, doors and trims has lots of missed patches. But overall is OK. 4. A notification must be given to the home owner prior to paving the driveway so the garage can be left open. this was not the case. 5. Weeds must be removed from the the property prior to placing topsoil. Otherwise it is going to grow a loot of weeds in the new sod. The backyard is full of weeds.

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.8 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Friendly responsive sales reps.

Would Change

Most of my 30-day review issues revolve around poor painting and finishing... it's the first thing that visitors to my home have commented on - a key issue was that baseboards and trim were not cleaned before painting - dirt, sanding dust, etc were painted over. Also, the laneway I found the garage and outdoors to be very dirty on move in date - I removed at least 30 large nails and screws from the driveway within the first week, and the garage and front porch were stained and covered in dried caulking and drywall mud. More attention to cleaning before move in would be helpful.

November 2016Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 4.8 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

I REALLY liked the option/upgrades model specific and global pricing books. This was my bible for 8 months. Also, I liked the "trades" / "suppliers" Tartan uses. I felt these were companies that had good reputations, ie. Westboro Carpets, Ottawa Valley Kitchens. I received exceptional service at Ottawa Valley Kitchens. And, all the tiling in my home, floors, backsplash, shower trim, is fantastic. I have had a lot of tiling done over the years by hiring private trades and the quality of the job done in my home is amongst the best I have ever seen. I would have to say the thing I'm happiest about is the tiling. If not done thoughtfully, and skillfully, this can have a huge negative impact. Tartan surpassed my expectations here.

Would Change

All the people I dealt with thru this process-100%-from salesperson to design centre representative, left Tartan Homes during "my process", and Tartan never once let me know. I would email my old contact, sometimes not be replied to, or be answered by a new contact, without explanation, and would have to email a few times before I was told that person was no longer at Tartan. At times I felt I had no contact/support available to me. I was very surprised by Tartan's incredibly poor customer service, given the positive reputation of their company and their product.

November 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 6.0 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

The entire buying and building process exceeded my expectations. Every question I had for the sales team was answered promptly. Every person I have interacted with was friendly helpful and knowledgeable. The quality that went into building my home was beyond my expectations. I am very pleased with my home and while I can't imagine ever leaving this home, if I buy in the future it will most definitely be another Tartan home

Would Change

Nothing!

November 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Being a first time home buyer, we had a lot of questions. The kindness and patience from Tartan staff from the beginning of the process all the way until the end has been extraordinary. The service team has also been extremely helpful as well, always responding to e-mails and calls as quick as they can. We absolutely love our new home and would definitely recommend Tartan to all of our friends and family.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

October 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.7 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Fairly smooth process and

Would Change

When purchasing the lot, we specifically asked what was occurring with the wooded land behind as we paid a premium to have this privacy. We were advised it was protected and nothing would be built there We move in to find out there is a park going in. When Tartan was approached about this mistepresentation of information, my concern, i felt, was dismissed. This is a big integrity concern.

October 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Small business/family approach even with such a large company

Would Change

Nothing based on our experience

October 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.5 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

sales and design people always responded quickly.

Would Change

It is difficult to take as much time off as needed during the work day to do all that is needed in terms of design and then follow up and fixes

October 2016Customer Review from: Poole Creek
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

We love the open concept floor plan, quality of workmanship and the service that we have received from the site plan supervisor and Tartan representatives.

Would Change

If we had known of the upgrade, we would have upgraded the exterior pillars to brick for longevity and would have preferred a larger lot size for more privacy. As for service, we would like the Design Centre Team to be encouraged to inform first time new home buyers of all interior & exterior upgrade options.

October 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 3.7 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

The sales office staff are fantastic!

Would Change

Design Centre experience needs to be better. The Design Centre needs to be better organized. All of the standard fixtures etc. should be on display at the Design Centre. Staff at Design Centre need to be better trained and have more time to spend with clients. All construction activities, including the inspection by the City of Ottawa, should be completed before the PDI date. There should be NO SURPRISES for the home owner to find on possession due to the Ottawa inspection. Overall construction quality and workmanship needs to be greatly improved, especially the drywall and painting trades. Too many defects in drywall seams, especially on the ceilings were found. Some drywall patches were painted over without being sanded. Too many paint drips are found on walls, doors, trim etc. Many nailing holes in door trim weren't filled and sanded prior to painting. Many doors have debris pained onto the their surfaces. Trim around doors have too many gouges etc. Exterior doors don't operate smoothly and are hard to open and close. Garage door developed a pressure dent on one panel where two panels meet. There are too many pain stains and drywall compound stuck to exterior steps, parging, and, the rear deck...

October 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

What I liked most about the services provided by Tartan Homes was the designing process and the predelivery inspection. The designer really knew what she was doing, and she had provided us with a lot of great suggestions. The PDI guy was quite nice and was very patient and thorough.

Would Change

I would definitely increase the quality of the materials and workmanship. The material used n the house was relatively cheap and outdated, and the issue with workmanship can be seen throughout the house including uneven wall painting, spots of paint all over the floor, dents in flooring, and dents on walls.

September 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Clear communication.

Would Change

Bigger lots.

September 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.8 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

The contractors and sales reps were very pleasant to ro feal with.

Would Change

Tartan needs to explain in detail that if you are getting hardwood installed it's extremely important to have a dehumidifier to protect your floors. Seems like common sense but it's not.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Quality of home and staff professionalism

Would Change

Nothing!

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

I look out into trees in back of building

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.7 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Design

Would Change

Nothing

August 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Very informative and easy to work with. Huge amount of standard options & inc. features. Will be looking at Tartan for our next home!

Would Change

Nothing really, maybe the high cost of pot lights.over $100 per light seems a little high. Other then that we have been very pleased.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.6 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Very professional and happy employees

Would Change

Kitchen island drawers are very poor quality. drawers have been replaced 3 to 4 times. Also hardwood flooring quality and paint quality not as good as expected.

August 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

The quality! And the service was prompt and great! (smiley face)

Would Change

Just the hardwood flooring, it pops up ALOT.

July 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

From the moment we walked into the sales centre and still now, Tartan has the best customer service. We have loved every step of this process. Our home is stunning. I couldn't pick just one thing. I really thought I'd miss our old house but I seriously haven't even thought it! We're so in love with our new home

Would Change

Nothing. Your team is amazing!!!!

July 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Timely service.

Would Change

Nothing

July 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Easy to work with, quick, and to the point. The home was very good quality and all the details were taken seriously throughout the process.

Would Change

One thing I would change is the guarantee that the PDI items would be resolved before move in as not all of our items were taken care of. I understand it can take time, but this should be communicated.

July 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

honest

Would Change

I bought a mode home. There is a big hole in my front lawn where used to be a picket sign for the model home which hasn't been filled.

July 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 4.6 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

July 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Quality company/ Quality workmanship

Would Change

Overall good experience

July 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

July 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.5 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

June 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

- flexibility in changes in layout, and providing additional items for selection beyond those at the design centre - open communication with sales rep/colour coordinator/service department regarding changes and repairs to the house, and providing legitimate reasons when some requests were denied - everyone was very knowledgeable and pleasant to work with (these people include Sales, Design Centre, pre-drywall inspection, PDI, and Service) - that close-knit family feel, i.e. I'm not just a number

Would Change

- painter, poor paint finish on walls and trim all over the house (I can't even count the number of times a friend or family member said the paint finish could be better) - the two lots adjacent to our house is vacant, it would be nice to have construction waste from nearby houses removed from these lots, as well as filling them back up with dirt (they are pits that are quite deep and potentially hazardous)

June 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

June 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.3 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

The location of my home is good. The quality of light fixtures and some features like granite countertop in the kitchen and air conditioning in the house as part of standard build is good. The house is energy star certified. The service provided by Tartan is good too. The service team is very quick in responding and pleasant to deal with.

Would Change

I had a Tartan semi detached home before and was very happy with the quality and service hence decided to upgrade to single house by Tartan but this time the quality has gone way down. I am very unhappy with the quality of materials and workmanship. Within the first week, the kitchen drawers were falling apart, the paint job done in the house is very poor. The closet doors very unsmooth and making noises. Walked into a house with dirty floors. The carpet seems dirty. Doesn't look like much cleaning was done. Toilet holder missing. Towel rods at wrong locations. Trim nails coming out. All the washroom countertops too low in height and sinks and toilets too small as compared to even my semi detached house. Very unhappy with the too small width on staircase. Once again the width shrunk compared to my other smaller house. Stones on fireplace falling off. Lots of big loose nails on the roof. A lot that I am absolutely dissatisfied with. Paying over half million for a house I do expect qualit and sad to say this time I'm very dissatisfied.

June 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.7 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

It's a high-quality product

Would Change

access to the finished basement be larger so you can bring larger furniture etc.

June 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 5.8 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Location, design, pricing and incentives

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

June 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Overall we've had an extremely positive experience. From the sales office, to the design center, to the service office, to the individual trades everyone has been great to deal with in terms of being knowledgeable, helpful, and accommodating.

Would Change

The only area where improvement is required is the PDI process. We found the independent inspector to be unhelpful in that he skimmed over parts of the process and didn't address things, such as visible water on the basement floor, until we pointed them out. We felt that he rushed through the process and took very brief notes on the PDI form that were so general that it was hard to tell afterwards what the actual issues were from reading the form. He seemed more concerned with getting the form signed off before all issues have been addressed.

June 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

My main floor. the open concept.

Would Change

I wish they would clean the air duct so we wouldn't have this allergy problem. both myself and husband and my twin 15 month old constantly been coughing since we moved in to this house. I would also change the laundry room, we bought a front load washer dryer but we weren't able to open the washer's door due to the lay out of laundry room and now I had to go buy a top load washer which I have such a hard time getting my clothes out of the washer with the back problem that I have.

May 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Good quality home, decently priced, the PDI representative change my perception about Tartan and he made things better.

Would Change

Have people that are knowledgeable or provide adequate training to those that don't have the ability to actually assist home buyers at the design Centre. The individual that we dealt with made our experience terribe and cost us more than 8 thousand dollars in relation to mistakes that she did with out selectionsa. ONE was about the 9 feet in the basement the other about the baseboards. We did not want the 9 feet in the basement but when we tried to plead our case it was too late and the rep made an error with the baseboards we wanted and again when we pled our case we had to pay fees for something we did not ask for and we're treated with disrespect via email and telephone conversations. We did not expect this from tartan and will never recommend to anyone. We are happy with the homexception but the experience was terrible. We are in the process of posting our story online so other homeowners can understand what we went through and they can make the choice themselves.

May 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 3.8 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

The Sales team was great. did a great job and the team helped us find the home we wanted and made everything easy. But after that things changed starting from the Design team up until now.

Would Change

I would change the Design team because they did not help us decide in a proper matter. They rush you to make you choice and the most important thing is that they gave false information. For example we wanted to pick a stair railing type from design center but the lady told us that for a Red Oak design we can't pick this kind of railing and we had only one option which it the traditional railing type. But then I see at my neighbors who have a Red Oak as well that they were able to get the same railing type we wanted. Which made me really unhappy knowing I'm living with something that I didn't want out of an unprofessional service. Another thing, I picked the fridge with the design team and they knew the size and never suggested me to get a deeper fridge cabinet. So professional really!! my kitchen looks funny with this big fridge popping out. The problem is people work so hard to make their home look good even if they had to pay more so the service should match that. The warranty and follow up services as well need to be changed. They don't follow up properly and we have to keep reminding them of the issues that we have. If we can't prove we didn't break something then we won't get it fixed. And I'm positive that Tartan doesn't even inspect the homes before delivering them, because I found couple of major things that were broken when house was delivered. Couple of spindles that I found broken in PDI where moved to some where else or patched with glue and paint rather than replacing them. Kitchen cabinet had a big dent from manufacturing issue but since Tartan accepted the house like that then the supplier will not replace it and I was offered to buy a new one. Seriously !! Window broken that needed to be replaced had to come back three times because every time they come in they realize that the window they brought is broken too. Funny but sad. I had to be home wait for them 3 times already but not fixed yet. The supplier calls me directly now and Tartan is not even involved in this issue any more. Which it should not be like that. Don't get me started with the paint work!! Most annoying thing is that Tartan will send the supplier to fix one thing but then they will blame it on another supplier. Then we inform Tartan and send another supplier and then blame it on another supplier. I don't need to be in this blaming game and I believe this is why we pay tartan and not the suppliers. So Tartan should take care of this headache and follow up with customers to make sure things are on the proper path to get fixed. To be honest there are a lot of things that need to be worked on and I will not be buying another Tartan home in the future after this kind of experience with them. Still running after them to fix issues they should have been done already, we almost get to the point that we give up on following up.

May 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

We absolutely loved working with [Tartan reps]. They are from Russell community, knowledgable and I always enjoyed popping by to chat with them. It's unfortunate that they have both left the company! construction manager, is also fantasic. It's obvious he takes great pride in his work. Very attentive and his hard work does not go unnoticed. Also, I was impressed with the quality and quantity (so many options!) for what is considered "standard" in the finishes.

Would Change

We had a difficult time booking our color consultation as we were only told about the possible dates very last minute and apparently the woman who does this only takes appointments during the week day. We were only given two weeks notice to have our appointment and it was not possible for my husband or I to miss work. This turned into a bit of an issue with the sales staff and I had to argue to have an alternate arrangement made for a weekend appointment. I do think that buyers should be asked to miss work for appointments; there should always be a weekend or evening appointment possibe.

May 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 3.7 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

May 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 1.5 / 6 1.5 Stars1.5 Stars1.5 Stars1.5 Stars1.5 Stars1.5 Stars

Liked Most

nothing so far we are cover by dust day and night front and back

Would Change

everything first of all be honest if are not going to do it just simple say no, don't give false hope

May 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 3.3 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

Floor plan/ good response to deficiencies however did not expect 16+ problems quality control

Would Change

More flexibility on options

May 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.5 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Only Sales office services.

Would Change

Would like to discuss the worst ever experiences of TARTAN HOMES with OWNERS ONLY. Vendors are good and Employees (After Sales Services) of TARTAN are worst. Tartan has left a worst ever image / experience among all family and friend of mine.

April 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Quick, very easy to deal with.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

April 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

The floor plan

Would Change

The landscaping

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

All levels of customer service has been fantastic and easy to talk to.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

The people. Productivity and efficiency. They cared.

Would Change

My walls carry my neighbours sounds. in the living room and master bath I can hear my neighbours clearly! Quite surprised. Not cool.

March 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 3.3 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

The sales and design centre staff were great.

Would Change

Overall tartan should be concerned with the quality of work their contractors are providing. Having painters and workers who can't even paint walls, plaster lights or paint a ceiling properly is unacceptable and embarassing. The majority of our ceramic tiles aren't grouted properly. I could go on and on from the crooked sink and crooked lightswitches, insulation below code. Just awful and embarassing errors that shouldn't exist in the first place.

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.0 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

sales Representative collaboration

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

March 2016Customer Review from: Java
Overall Rating: 5.7 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

The various teams and the transition from one to the other from sales to construction.

Would Change

Better quality of paint. Otherwise everything is excellent.

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Location, friendly staff

Would Change

Explain parking on occupancy date and closing date as they did change

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.4 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Efficient

Would Change

None

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 3.7 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

Sales rep at Findley Creek and her reps are freindly and helpful but the service team is not.

Would Change

The service team - tend to speak more than customer, does not like to listen, i guess they assume they know everything, and show little empathy since they talk to customer with same issues everyday. Why? It is a painful process...dont feel like talking to them but do i have the option? What promised to be done before PDI never done, and shoult not promised in the first place. Carpet cleaning, lamps full with bugs, cracking tiles, lazy painting work after fixing the wall, taking the short cut and didnt want to get work done nicely ( please treat me like how they would treat thier on family)

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

The home is energy efficient. The staff respond to requests and questions in a timely manner.

Would Change

More selection in design center. Upgrade prices more expensive than the market. I suggest developing a computer program to be available in the design center/website to help purchasers visualize what their selections for the house interior would look like ( like a Barbie dress-up game).

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Excellent & efficient workmanship.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

March 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.3 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

The layout and floors. The initial process was pleasant at the service center.

Would Change

After purchase hand holding.

March 2016Customer Review from: Java
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

The Tartan Homeowner's Manual was a fantastic guide for a first-time home buyer such as myself, clearly explaining all of the stages of the purchase process

Would Change

Nothing

March 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

The sales staff were fantastic and the pdi inspector was good. The head Forman was also very good at our pre drywall inspection. Good value for our money. Very friendly staff. The construction crew plowed out our street and end of all the driveways after a very bad winter storm. It wa over and above what we expected.

Would Change

There are several items on our 30 day inspection that I was surprised we had to list. Many issues with the paint job and bathroom cabinets in the master bath. Things that were very obvious were overlooked and will now need to be fixed. The condition of our lot on closing was pretty awful. We are constantly picking up nails and garbage. It would be extremely upsetting if one of children or our pet stepped on on of the many nails left on our site.

March 2016Customer Review from: Java
Overall Rating: 3.5 / 6 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars

Liked Most

The layout and finishes [which I had to fight for on a few occasions...], due to the way I designed it. All the trades inside & service dept. people who have seen the way I designed it, without any advice from the design center, are amazed at the final appearance. Tartan could take notes...

Would Change

There isn't enough room for me to explain MY particular situation. I budgeted for some screw-ups - I'd be daft NOT to, every home building experience will have some issues, I feel many of mine should have never been. I had real estate "experts" hear out my situation, and simply tell me to drop it and break my agreement and deal with Tartan in court in lieu of proceeding with the transaction... with 20k on the line, I wasn't ready to throw it away. If it were 2,000$ I wouldn't think twice and chalk it up as a lesson learned. There was things that COULD have been amended by Tartan, but simple "big boss ego" got in the way, and unfortunately I paid for it - no pun intended. I was beyond reasonable most of the way... Everyone has a breaking point, for the first time in my life I got to such point during this experience. This cost me, my money, time, effort, health and a couple of friendships...

March 2016Customer Review from: Java
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Workmanship,experience,overall look,design of the home and location

Would Change

None as of now

February 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.0 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Good layout. Sales staff were very professional and pleasant to talk to

Would Change

I find my home hardwood floor is not well done.

February 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.8 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Every single employee we dealt with was very pleasant and made the process really easy and enjoyable.

Would Change

I would of liked.my.house to be 100 % complete before moving in including the exterior painting....not have to wait till the summer to have that done.

February 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Overall quality, look and feel of the home. Finishings/décor is current. Very energy efficient. Pleasant and helpful sales staff. The staff went over and above to help us move in early.

Would Change

Very minor - closet organizers and options for alarm systems/companies.

February 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 3.8 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

Sales reps were friendly and helpful

Would Change

The energy efficiency which I do not believe is real. i would rather have a brick exterior but that wasn't an option for us at the time

February 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

I like that i got so much help during process of buying and selection since this is our first home buying. on this opportunity i would like to thank [Tartan rep] at design center and [Tartan rep] sales representative.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

February 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 4.0 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

Layout and space

Would Change

The furnace installed is too small for the size of the home. During cold days we can't get our house warm enough (passed 20C in 3 hours) and tartan denies there is an issue and won't help solve the problem. Clearly there has been some agreement made between tartan and Harding for cheap small furnaces and someone has signed off saying it's the appropriate size furnace for our house. The paint is horrible quality. Lots of errors and carelessness in finishes, marks, debris in paint on baseboards, drip marks, the wood floors have gaps in some places and lots of paint specks alone walls I've had to scrub off. The cost of some upgrades are absurd. $600 for a strip of fancier tile in the kitchen. One strip. 3" wide $700. I highly doubt it cost that much. Mark up is insane The fireplace doesn't work and we are still waiting on the recalled piece to be installed almost two months after closing. The sales rep at Russell trails was not very helpful in explaining things with sale of home (HST rebate and changes when upgrades to the home are made) she also had a hard time answering my emails on time if at all. We went in June for upgrade selection and ar said no more than two weeks we should have the prices. We waited until October for pricing to come in for our upgrades!! Overall, I like my new house but it was a horrendous process and I wouldn't be recommending it to anyone. The whole thing was stressful and problematic.

February 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Freindly staff and always willing to help and guide throughout the process

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

February 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.4 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Quick response, good service.

Would Change

Would like to have entry door be decorative rather than clear glass. May want to charge extra 2K to the buyer but helps a lot once the owner moves in. It is very difficult to find someone to replace the glass after. This would be personal preference, I know that hardwood in the kitchen is cosy and latest fashion however I would prefer big tiles 14X14.

January 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

representatives are very quick to respond to questions and concerns. the home is very comfortable to live in

Would Change

disappointed that I did not get to chose the colors for exterior. some concern about the landscaping as I am not sure what to expect. A slightly larger garage would be nice. I am concerned about what is going to happen with street parking as our road is not set up for it and many people seem to be parking second car in the street

January 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

Level of service and response time to any and all inquiries were top notch.

Would Change

Nothing, Great all around.

January 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek Java
Overall Rating: 5.7 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Its friendly staff and there willpower to meet my concerns about my new home

Would Change

Keep up the great work!

January 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

1) Quality of finishes: Excluding the paint job, all finishes were done really well. 2) Customer Service: Pleasant people to deal with.

Would Change

1) Offering more flexibility: Unless you're buying a single home, there is no flexibility with customization. 2) Taking action: They are very quick to dismiss a problem or apologize for it rather than doing something about it.

January 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.5 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Usually respond quickly to e-mails and service requests

Would Change

Design centre needs a major shake-up. Representatives were unhelpful, unknowledgeable and sometimes rude. There is room for significant improvement at the design centre. Representatives could be more helpful by providing guidance through the process of choosing finishes for your home and better trained on available options.

January 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.9 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

Everything

Would Change

Nothing

January 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.7 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

Staff were very good and answered questions within a day/ The workmanship of the house is generally good and all staff that I have met during the inspections were all nice and professional

Would Change

Option selection process was pretty terrible. The staff was not very helpful at all.

January 2016Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.8 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

The open concept

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

January 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 4.6 / 6 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars

Liked Most

9' ceilings, triple pane windows, big windows, energy star

Would Change

The biggest problem no longer works for Tartan. Service only available 8-4 isnt ideal.

January 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 5.1 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

The floor plan that you offered for us (Granite townhome) with eat in kitchen and dining room was very difficult to find. It is a great size for us (family of 3) and we love having the finished basement for our son and his toys. [Tartan rep] was absolutely wonderful to work with and always answered my questions in a super timely manner.

Would Change

Right now, we understand that we live in a construction zone. However, the construction workers can be disrespectful of the homeowners in the community that have already moved in. We have seen workers using water from our outdoor faucet to fill buckets, frames being built directly in front of our driveway making it next to impossible to pull into our driveway/house. Music blaring on the rooftop and cigarette butts left in our front yard.

January 2016Customer Review from: Havencrest
Overall Rating: 4.1 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

1) Floor plan of home. 2) Sales team was a pleasure to work with. Courteous, professional, knowledgeable, and timely in responding. 3) location of the home in the court

Would Change

1) Improve design center experience: Expected more knowledgeable staff. Realize the staff was new at the time of our purchase, however we expected better communication with all parts related to our design selections experience. Recommend having new staff shadow more experienced staff. Should not be clients responsibility to always have to follow up to make sure items are being acted on. e.g.) Many questions arose that resulted in significantly more work/time on our part to find resolution. It was frustrating. Extra trips to the design center to walk through the selection process paperwork, extra back and forth with email, and a significant design change that we were not communicated. (bulk head in kitchen significantly wider than in show home and what we were led to believe) 2) tighten up the Tartan inspection after each trade finishes their work before signing off: We had a larger than expected number of items incomplete or not to the standard we expected at the time of possession. It is reasonable for a certain number of items to be chalked up to 'construction deficiencies', and they can be addressed after, however there were many items that could have been easily (and quickly) rectified had they been dealt with right at the time the crew was in. Instead, we are told to wait until after 30 day. Granted some of these are not 'critical', however it becomes significant when they are all added together. e.g.) drawers falling apart, wall/ceiling paint cut extremely poorly, bathroom hardware installed un-level and pulling out of drywall. (most TP and towel racks) 3) Improve the quality of exterior finishing: The exterior is the 1st impression of the home. It would cost Tartan very little to increase the standard on the exterior work and ensure it is done properly. Should not be left to customer to file a claim to get it done properly. - ensure proper grading and rolling of sod. e.g.) 2+" difference where the sod meets the driveway asphalt. Sod not rolled properly where excessive top soil was spread. This is going to result in uneven spots once it settles and potential for improper drainage. - ensure asphalt work contains no seams and is compacted properly at the driveway apron and around perimeter. e.g.) uneven seam left down the middle of driveway where the packer did not flatten, asphalt at apron of driveway not compacted properly leaving crevice for water to get underneath, loose asphalt left at foot of driveway as a 'ramp' over the curb. - finish off window wells properly before back filling. e.g.) having to come back and redo after the fact when it would have taken 1/4 the time (and $) to do it right in the first place. - increase the width of the back step by 12-24" 4) clean house properly for PDI and move in: - This is the 1st impression. e.g.) floors covered in dust. Exterior windows caked in construction dirt. Many bits unfinished that suggest lazy workmanship. Needed to wash cabinet interior, floor, and vacuum carpets before we could unpack. 5) customer point of contact - I would prefer to have a single point of contact for all inquiries, questions, or disputes throughout the build process to minimize the potential for miscommunication.. e.g.) Having the process go from sales -> design -> construction -> post-construction -> service might improve the time it takes to get the job done, however not ideal from a customer perspective . Propose assigning a single 'customer project manager' to each customer once they sign the contract. They would be with the customer through the entire build process to answer any questions. 6) improve street cleaning around job sites. - street cleaners are a start, but they only use water to push the street debris to the curb. This means that any material on the street gets pushed to the curb side, including roofing nails, and other bits. Suggest getting street cleaners to pass by the curb to pick up and dispose of this debris. e.g.) Improves appearance and more importantly to avoid unnecessary flat tires. (have had 2 flat tires due to roofing nails since moving in)

January 2016Customer Review from: Havencourt
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

how quickly my needs were addressed

Would Change

the paint/quality and workmanship

January 2016Customer Review from: Russell Trails
Overall Rating: 5.6 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

We love the home and layout. Friendly staff. Efficient and always helpful.

Would Change

*!!! Please Please Please - use silent drawer closer on adjoining bathrooms. - noise transmission from closing drawers is very bad between unites (from bathrooms)

December 2015Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 4.1 / 6 4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars4.0 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

December 2015Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.2 / 6 5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars5.0 Stars

Liked Most

I like most the Tartan home design, I mean the way they design the home is really nice and every space they used in a very sensible way and overall their service is quite o.k.

Would Change

I would like to change the home material. The material they use for the home is really cheap. It has to be more strong and reliable.

December 2015Customer Review from: Findlay Creek
Overall Rating: 5.5 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Clear and efficient. Caring staff always willing to help and make recommendations.

Would Change

During the final move in seminar there should be a nice handout provided with all the little details. I had to write them down myself and it was hard to follow while also making notes. Would have been nice to make notes onto a handout if provided.

December 2015Customer Review from: Havencourt
Overall Rating: 5.9 / 6 6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars6 stars

Liked Most

I really like the service team. They are very helpful and quick responding to the requests.

Would Change

It could be much better to have all deficiencies addressed during PDI fixed by home close.

December 2015Customer Review from: Havencourt
Overall Rating: 5.3 / 6 5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars5.5 Stars

Liked Most

Respondent had no comments.

Would Change

Respondent had no comments.

Profile

Tartan Homes


233 Metcalfe Corporation
Ottawa, ON
K2P 2C2

Tartan homes are built better, look better and live better than other homes on the market today. But we don’t simply make that claim. We demonstrate it with very specific ways in which a Tartan home delivers more value on the biggest investment you’ll ever make

Taking care of customers – from the moment they first engage with us until long after they move into their new home – is central to everything we do at Tartan. Our staff are trained to work closely with customers to understand their lifestyle and family needs now and in the future.